The democratic foundations of the Belarusian statehood provide for various political institutions, ideologies, and views. Equal rights are guaranteed for all. The Constitution recognizes and guarantees the inalienable rights of an individual. State power in the Republic of Belarus is exercised on the principle of its separation into legislative, executive, and judicial powers.

The Republic of Belarus is a unitary, democratic, welfare state based on the rule of law. The Republic of Belarus exercises supreme control and absolute authority over the entire territory and implements an independent domestic and foreign policy.

The Constitution of the Republic of Belarus was adopted in 1994 and amended at the national referenda on 24 November 1996 and 17 October 2004.

The Belarusian Government – or Council of Ministers – is made up of the Prime Minister of Belarus, his deputies, and ministers. It is the executive branch of state power in Belarus, and it is appointed by the President of Belarus. The head of the Government is the President of Belarus, who manages the main agenda of the government and direct the ministers. The National Assembly of Belarus is the continuation of the Supreme Soviet of the BSSR and acts as the functioning parliament for Belarus.

The Government is accountable to the President of the Republic of Belarus and answerable to the Parliament. The Prime Minister is proposed by the President and approved by Parliament. Government powers are determined by the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus.

Council of Ministers

Below are the 30 members of the Council of Ministers as of April 2019, as well as the head of the presidential administration and the chairmen of the State Committees, who are not technically ministers but are included in the Council of Ministers. Offices that are not technically counted as ministerial posts are italicized.

The Council of Ministers consists of: The prime minister, the first deputy prime minister(s), the deputy prime minister(s), the ministers of economy, finance, and foreign affairs, the head of the presidential administration, and the chairman of the State Control Committee together form the Presidium of the Council of Ministers. These officials are highlighted in yellow.


What does the Government of Belarus do?

Belarus’ Council of Ministers is responsible for the work of public agencies and ministerial bodies including:

  • public administration;
  • ministries;
  • KGB;
  • military industry and front line troops;
  • science and technology;
  • customs;
  • aviation;
  • ministerial committees;


The Government’s mandate covers:

  • national budget control;
  • domestic and foreign policy;
  •  economic and social development programs;
  • national security;
  •  defence.


How does local government work in Belarus?

Local issues are represented by the locally-elected Councils of Deputies. These local councils operate on 3 levels:

  1. primary (villages and towns);
  2. basic (towns and regional councils);
  3. regional (oblast) (Regional Council of Deputies).


Deputies are elected for a 4-year term to deal with local issues and represent the local population in decisions on issues relating to:

  • Health;
  • Education;
  • social welfare;
  • trade;
  • transport.

Local Councils of Deputies make decisions on local issues within the framework of national legislation.