The length of a solar day is determined by the time that it takes for the Earth to complete a full rotation around its axis and equals 24 hours. The Earth’s rotation on its axis leads to change between day and night. Another consequence of this rotation is the fact that while moving by 15° from West to East local solar time increases by an hour.

Further-eastern European Time (FET) is a time zone defined as three hours ahead of UTC (UTC+03:00) without daylight saving time, the zone immediately higher than the Eastern European Time. As of September 2016, it is used in Belarus, western Russia and Turkey, and is also called Minsk Time, Moscow Time (MSK), or Turkey Time (TRT).
The territory of Belarus located in the Eastern European Time Zone (UTC+03:00).

The zone was established in October 2011 as the official time for the Kaliningrad Oblast in Russia and then followed by Belarus. It was originally called Kaliningrad Time in Russia; however, on 26 October 2014, most of Russia moved the UTC offset back one-hour meaning that Kaliningrad Time is now UTC+02:00, and Moscow Time is UTC+03:00.
Several African and Middle Eastern countries use UTC+03:00 all year long, where it is called East Africa Time (EAT) and Arabia Standard Time (AST).


History of a time zone

Until 2011, Further-eastern European Time was identical to Eastern European Time (UTC+02:00; UTC+03:00 with daylight saving time). However, on 27 March 2011, Russia moved to the so-called “year-round daylight saving time”, so that clocks would remain on what had been the summertime all year round, making Kaliningrad Time permanently set to UTC+03:00, peculiarly placing its time ahead of countries to its east during winter. Belarus followed Russia on 15 September 2011, and the same decision was made by the Ukrainian parliament on 20 September 2011. After strong criticism from the mass media, on 18 October 2011, the Ukrainian parliament cancelled its previous decision. In 2014 Russia permanently returned to winter time all year round, making Kaliningrad Time permanently set to UTC+02:00 Transnistria, a breakaway territory from Moldova on the eastern side of the Dniester river bordering Ukraine, followed Ukraine by at first adopting Further-eastern European Time but later cancelling this decision.

Belarus is located in the same time zone as Bulgaria, Greece, Russia, Ukraine, Moldova, Estonia, Finland, Turkey, Israel, Latvia, Cyprus, Lithuania and other countries.